## Minutes

Arts and Cultural Affairs Advisory Council Sustainability Committee

Monday, July 22, 2019, 9 a.m. Room 105, Orange County Administration Center, 201 S. Rosalind Ave., Orlando, FL 32801



- **1. CALL TO ORDER:** The meeting was called to order at 9:07 a.m. by Chair Samí Haiman-Marrero.
- 2. PRESENT: Chair Samí Haiman-Marrero, Cecelia Bonifay, Karen Climer, Theo Webster
- 3. STAFF: Terry Olson; Trudy Wild, United Arts of Central Florida
- **4. GUESTS:** Alan Marshall and Lori Forsman, *Orange County Community, Environmental and Development Services*.

## 5. WELCOME, INTRODUCTIONS AND PUBLIC COMMENT

All present introduced themselves, and there was no public comment.

6. New Business: Overview of Sustainability for Orange County and the role of Arts and Cultural Affairs

Mr. Marshall and Ms. Forsman described the history of Orange County's efforts in sustainability. Currently, the new administration wants to make sure Orange County, internally, is doing their best to set the standards with sustainability. They are in the process of hiring a Chief Sustainability Officer.

## 7. Next Steps

- **a.** Staff will send links to the County's 2014 Sustainability report, the benchmarks report and Mayor Demings' Transition Team Report for review by the next meeting.
- b. Staff learned that the arts representative position on the County Sustainability Committee is vacant as Hal Kantor's term is up. Staff will see if Rick Schell or Candy Cole would apply to be on Orange County's Sustainability Committee. It was agreed it would be best to have someone who has served on the Arts and Cultural Affairs Advisory Council. The Orange County Sustainability Committee meets the fourth Thursday every other month at noon in the Administration Center, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor OMB Conference Room. They meet this week.

[NOTE: It was discovered after the meeting that there has already been a nomination for this position that will be presented to the BCC for approval on Aug. 6.]

- c. Staff will arrange monthly Monday morning meetings for this committee.
- 8. Adjournment: Meeting adjourned at 10:20 a.m.