MINUTES

Orange County Arts & Cultural Affairs Cultural Tourism Review Panel

Sept. 11, 2017 Lowndes Shakespeare Center



Present: Cecelia Bonifay, Julie Coleman, Evelyn Martinez, , Becky Roper, Dr. Rick Schell, Sara Segal

Absent: Karen Climer Vickie-Elaine Felder; Shelby Norwich; Rick Richbourg, Melvin Rogers

Staff: Terry Olson, Lindy Shepherd, Kevin James, Thali Sugisawa; Trudy Wild, United Arts of Central Florida

Council Chair Rick Schell called the meeting to order at 8:45 am.and introduced Cecelia Bonifay, the Review Panel Chair who took over at that point.

The Review Panel Chair called for public comments and introduced the new Panel members. There were no comments. Terry Olson thanked Trudy for all the work she puts into this process and presented her with a gift., Before the panel proceeded to discuss each application, a moment of silence was observed for those affected by the 9/11 attack 17 years earlier. Each applicant in turn was then given one minute for introductions and any needed updates and seven minutes of discussion and questions for each. Recusals by panel were as follows:

Cecelia Bonifay, recused from Crealdé School of Art. Hal Kantor recused from Enzian Becky Roper, recused from Garden Theatre. Dr. Rick Schell, recused from Orlando Shakes

The following organizations and representatives were involved in this order:

Albin Polasek Museum & Sculpture Gardens — Debbie Komanski, CEO/Executive Director; Lane Epps, Development Director; Laura Walda, Lawrence Lyman & Virginia Poe, Board members; Debra Galbraith, volunteer.

Art & History Museums – Maitland —Mark Harmon, Executive Director & CEO; Bret Fendt, Director of Advancement; Jennifer Grozio, Director of Development; Jessi VanPelt, Marketing Mangaer

Asian Cultural Association of Central Florida — Jasbir Mehta, Executive Director; Shamila Khanorkar, Board Treasurer; Subhash Chandra, Board Chair; Priyanka Chandra, Marketing Coordinator.

Association to Preserve the Eatonville Community, The (P.E.C.) —N. Y. Nathiri, Executive Director; Winfred "Chad" McKendrick, Board President; Dr. Anna Lillios, Chair of the ZORA! Festival Academics Committee; Ella Mae Dinkins, Eatonville's oldest living resident; John Beacham, Yards & Gardens Club; Eric Studstill, Museum & Operations Assistant

Bach Festival Society of Winter Park — Elizabeth Gwinn, Executive Director; John Sinclair, Artistic Director; Beverly Slaughter, Board Secretary; Zac Alfson, Patron Engagement Manager; Jolene Patrou, Development Manager.

Central Florida Ballet — Vasile Petrutiu, Executive Director; Kailey Klopfenstein, Office Manager; Van-Tam Nguyen, President of the Board of Directors; Jose Garrido, Board; Tiffany Sanders, Marketing Director.

Central Florida Community Arts — Joshua Vickery, Founder & Executive Director; Russell Stephens, Grant Writer; Justin Muchoney, Musical Director; Bia Silva, Development Manager; Dan Yee & Dr. Stephen Summers, Board..

Crealdé School of Art — Peter Schreyer, CEO/Executive Director; Betsy Schreyer, Grant Writer; Dean Jennings, VP of Board.

Creative City Project, Inc. — Cole NeSmith, Executive Director; Chris Albanese, COO; Melyssa Marshall, helper; Cristina Calvet-Harrold, Board Chair; Board Members Paul Bryan and Ted Maines

Downtown Arts District — Barbara Hartley, Executive Director; Ha'ani Hogan, Development; Tiffany Sanders & Eva Krzewinski, Board members.

Enzian — David Schillhammer, Executive Director; David Whitfield, Director of Finance; McKenzi Vandeberg, Development Manager; Board President Allan Keen; Katharine Zimmerman, Grants Manager

Garden Theatre — Nao Tsurumaki, Executive Director; Melissa Braillard, Director of Patron Development; Eric Vernon, Grants Specialist; Susan Haugen & Ray Fournier, Board Members

GladdeningLight— Randy Robertson, Founding Director; Elaine Johnson, Board Chair.

Global Peace Film Festival — Nina Streich, Executive Director; Rey Perez, Board Chair; Shanon Larimer, Marketing Consultant; Kurt Alter, Board Treasurer

Holocaust Memorial Resource and Education Center of Florida — Pam Kancher, Executive Director; Ellen Wise Lang, Board President; Jeffrey Miller, Mark Fried, Past Presidents; Raychel Cesaro, Development Manager; Terrance Hunter, Program Coordinator; Mandy Richardson, Communications Coordinator

Mad Cow Theatre Company — Mitzi Maxwell, Executive Director; Audrey McGowan, Operations Manager; Jessica Kashube, Company Manager; Mike Schneider, Kerby Pickens, & Tony Simotes, Board member

Maker Effect Foundation — Candy Cole, President; Susan Haugen, Board Member

The Mennello Museum of American Art (Friends of) — Shannon Fitzgerald, Executive Director; Kim Robinson, Senior Administrative Assistant; Katherine Navarro, Associate Curator of Education, Francesca Ascione, Design & Marketing Coordinator; Jim Southall, Board Treasurer

Opera Orlando —; John Wettach, President of the Board of Directors; Beatriz Ramirez, Executive Assistant and Grants Manager; Chev Lovett, Development Chair; Danielle Anglin, Board member.

Orlando Ballet — Sibille Hart Pritchard, Board Chair; Shane Jewell, Executive Director; Jonathan Ledden, Board President; Katherine Fabian, Managing Director; Cheryl Collins,

Director of Development; Judy St. Peter, Board Secretary; Kamilah Smith, Director of Sales & Marketing

Orlando Fringe — Alauna Friskics, Executive Director; Lisa Hardt, Development Coordinator; Kenny Howard, Board President; George Fender, Board Treasurer.

Orlando Museum of Art — Glen Gentele, Executive Director; Hansen Mulford, Curator; Jane Ferry, Curator of Education; Joel Huey, Chief Financial Officer; Dan Calleja, Grants Manager

Orlando Philharmonic Orchestra — Christopher Barton, Executive Director; Ashley Hickman, Development Director; Teri Kozub, Director of Administration & Finance, Cristina Venturini, Associate Director of Marketing & Communications; Mary Palmer, Board President and, Alex Gourlay Board member.

Orlando Repertory Theatre — Gene Columbus, Executive Director; Vicki Landon, Development Director; Chris Brown, General Manager; Jennifer Adams, Education Director.

Orlando Science Center — JoAnn Newman, CEO and President; Craig Meyer, CFO; Shelly Rodgers, VP of Development, Jeff Stanford, VP of; Brandan Lanman, VP of Visitor Experience; Catherine Duffy, Director of Strategic Partnerships.

Winter Garden Heritage Foundation — Cynthia Cardona, Executive Director; Pam Gould Business & Revenue Development Manager.

Orlando Shakespeare Theater — Rita Lowndes, Board Chair; Ken Margeson, Board Member; PJ Albert, Managing Director; Lori Weaver, Grants Manager; Christian Knightly, Marketing Director; Dana Nichols, Development Director; Andrea Massey-Farrell, Board President

PAST/Wells' Built Museum — Senator Geraldine Thompson, Founder; Elizabeth Thompson, Executive Director

Snap! Orlando — Patrick Kahn, Director; Holly Kahn, ?; Kunal Patel (BrandVR) AR project partner

Timucua Arts Foundation — Chris Belt, Executive Director; Benoit Glazer& Elaine Corriveau, Founders; Ellen Hurwitz, Board.

The Winter Park Playhouse — Heather Alexander, Executive Director; Lisa Melillo, Dir. of Marketing & Public Relations; Gary Brewer, Pamela Peelor, Audrey Byllott, Board Members;

Meeting adjourned at 1:10 p.m.